APC’s Atule emerges winner of Kogi by-election


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Egbunu Atule of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the Ibaji Local Government constituency by-election of Kogi, conducted on Dec. 5.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof Rotimi Ajayi, who announced the results of the election on Sunday at Onyadega, headquarters of the local government, said that Atule polled 8,515 votes to emerge winner of the poll.

Ajayi also announced that Daniel Enefola of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second having scored 4,565 votes.

Six other parties also fielded candidates for the election.They included SDP, AA, ADC, AAC, APM and NRM.

The election was conducted to fill the vacancy created by the death of John Abah also of the APC, which occurred in June.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.