Bankole, Dogara, Ambode, Daniel, Omisore named APC’s Contact/Strategy panel members


Top defectors to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Monday got their first major assignment for the party.

They include two former House of Representatives Speakers Dimeji Bankole and Yakubu Dogara, as well as former Ogun State Governor and ex-Osun State Deputy Governor Iyiola Omisore.

They were named as members of the party’s 61-man Contact/Strategy Committee.

Bankole joined the APC about two weeks ago.

The committee will be inaugurated today by the Chairman of the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) and Yobe State Governor Mai Mala Buni.

It has Jigawa State Governor Abubakar Badru as its Chairman and Dr. Ikechi Emenike as the Secretary.
Also named as members are former governors Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos) and Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun).

Though details of the terms of reference of the committee were sketchy last night, party sources said that the committee is to establish constructive engagement between critical stakeholders at various levels with a view to enhancing confidence in the party.

The party’s Caretaker Committee Secretary, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe, confirmed the development in a statement yesterday in Abuja.

Other members of the committee include Deputy Senate President Ovie Omo-Agege, 11 governors, former and serving members of the National Assembly, members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) and some party chieftains.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.