Bayelsa lawmakers deny defection to APC


Bayelsa State House of Assembly has denied speculations that 11 of its members have defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC).

The assembly also called on President Goodluck Jonathan to declare his presidential ambition for 2015.

The House was jolted by reports that 11 of its 24 members had defected to APC.

But rising from an emergency meeting at the Assembly Quarters, Yenagoa, the lawmakers flayed the report and insisted that the assembly was intact.

The Speaker of the House, Kombowei Benson, said all the lawmakers remained loyal to the Peoples Democratic Party, President Jonathan and the state party Chairman, Col. Sam Inokoba (rtd).

Benson said they were happy at the transformation agenda of President Jonathan and the restoration programme of the state Governor, Seriake Dickson.

He said it was baseless to insinuate that lawmakers defected to APC because the former governor of the state,  Timipre Sylva, under whose tenure they were elected, had joined the APC.

He said it was also premature to speculate that some lawmakers were planning to join the APC and use it as a platform to return to the assembly in 2015.

On why 18 out of the 24 assembly members attended the emergency meeting, the speaker said some members were on medical trips while others obtained permission to stay away.

“The reports of defection are fallacious. There is no cause for any member to think of defecting to APC. The Bayelsa State House of Assembly is intact,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.