Bye-election: APC leading with over 65k votes in four of five Lagos east LGAs


Tokunbo Abiru, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Lagos east senatorial bye-election, is leading Babatunde Gbadamosi, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, with over 60,000 votes in the ongoing exercise.

According to results announced by Ademola Oremosun, a professor of the University of Lagos (UNILAG) who is the returning officer for the election, Abiru has polled 75,481 votes in four of the five local government areas in the senatorial district while Gbadamosi is trailing with 8,596 votes.

The margin between both candidates is 66,885.

Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu and Ikorodu are the five local government areas in Lagos east.

Below are the results of the four LGAs announced as of the time of filing this report:


APC: 17,728
PDP: 2,067


APC: 22,213
PDP: 1,826

Ibeju Lekki

APC: 16,336
PDP: 937

Ikorodu LGA

APC: 19,204
PDP: 3,766

Kosofe is the only LGA where result is being expected.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) conducted the election following the death of Adebayo Osinowo, the senator who represented the district.

Until his death in June, Osinowo was a member of the APC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.