Ekiti assembly rejects Fayose’s list of chairmen, commissioners


The Ekiti State House of Assembly on Tuesday refused to deliberate on the motion seeking approval for the constitution of local government caretaker committees’ chairmen and members.

The assembly said the request by Governor Ayodele Fayose was sub judice as the sacked caretaker chairmen of the 16 Local Government Areas and 19 Local Council Development Areas had gone to court to challenge their dissolution.

The 35 caretaker chairmen were sworn in on August 5 by the immediate past Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi. But Fayose, on assumption of office dissolved them on October 18.

The assembly also refused to consider the list of commissioner nominees submitted for screening by the governor because it was not included in the Tuesday’s Order Paper.

It, however, granted approval to the state to access N2bn out of the N220bn Small, Micro and Medium Enterprises’ Development Fund of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The assembly said accessing the loan would bring about development to the state’s economy.

The motion moved by the Majority Leader, Churchill Adedipe, and seconded by Tope Agidi, was unanimously approved by the members present.

The Chairman, House Committee on Legal Matters and Local Government Affairs, Adedeji Odu, called the attention of members to a writ of summons in a case instituted by the sacked caretaker chairmen of the 16 LGAs and the 19 LCDAs.

He cited Order 54(5) of the Standing Order of House, which stated that the Assembly could not deliberate on a matter pending in court.

According to him, the aggrieved chairmen are asking the state High Court to interpret certain aspects of the law regarding their constitution and tenure.

Odu, therefore, advised that the matter be set aside until the court decided the pending suit.

Earlier the Speaker, Dr. Adewale Omirin, had read three letters written to the Assembly by Fayose, seeking approval for the CBN loan, approval of three commissioner nominees and caretaker chairmen.

The nominees are Owoseni Ajayi as Attorney-General, Kayode Oso as Commissioner for Transport and Chief Toyin Ojo as Commissioner for Finance.

The Assembly later adjourned sitting till today (Wednesday).

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress in Ekiti State has called on Fayose to fulfil his electoral promise that he would enhance the welfare of Ekiti people as he pledged during campaigns.

In a statement by its State Publicity Secretary, Taiwo Olatubosun, the party lamented that the state had been thrown into darkness in the last 14 days.

“In the last 14 days, the entire Ekiti State has been thrown into darkness, even though the governor promised to ensure 24-hour electricity supply during his inauguration.

“The excuse that electricity is under the Federal Government is untenable, as a responsible and sensitive government is supposed to do the needful to make life easy for its citizens.

“This did not happen under Governor Fayemi who supported the Power Holding Company of Nigeria, which transformed to BEDC by purchasing over 120 transformers and many metres of cables to replace the old and damaged ones.

“This ensured steady supply of electricity. Instead of Fayose to take a cue from his predecessor, he has remained insensitive to the plight of the citizens as the total lack of power supply has taken a toll on businesses of artisans with its attendant hardship,” Olatubosun said.

It will be recalled that Fayose on Monday, following a protest, promised to release N5m to reconnect the people of Ifaki-Ekiti, the home town of former Governor Segun Oni, to the national grid after nine months of blackout.

He also promised to provide a transformer to the people to assist them in power distribution.

Follow Us

Previous articleObasanjo, IBB shun Jonathan’s 2nd term declaration, as experts express divergent views on assessment
Next articleUBA commits $1m to Ebola fight


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.