FG approves 20 new private varsities


The federal government has approved the establishment of 20 private universities.

With the development, Nigeria now has a total of 99 private tertiary institutions.

Adamu Adamu, minister of education, announced the development on Wednesday after a federal executive council (FEC) meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Adamu noted that the new universities will be given provisional licences from the National Universities Commission (NUC) for next year, while monitoring and evaluation will be carried out.

The approved universities are: Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom; Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara; Maranatha University, Mgbidi, Imo; Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa, and Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano.

Others are: Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo; Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River; Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo; NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna, and Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau.

James Hope University, Lagos; Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano; Capital City University, Kano; Ahman Pategi University, Kwara; University of Offa, Kwara; Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa; Edusoko University, Bida, Niger; Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja; Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa, and Anan University, Kwall, Plateau, also got provisional approval.

The list of already established private universities can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.