FIFA Women’s World Cup: Super Falcons land in group of death


Nigeria’s Super Falcons have been drawn in Group D with two-times winners U.S., alongside Australia and Sweden, for the 2015 edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.

The pairing emerged at the draw ceremony held at the Canadian Museum of History in Ottawa, Canada on Saturday.

FIFA’s Secretary General Jérôme Valcke, and FIFA’s Deputy Director of the Competitions Division and Head of Women’s Football, Tatjana Haenni, conducted the draw.

The tournament has been scheduled to hold from June 6 to July 5.

Another African representatives at the tournament, Cote D’Ivoire, were drawn in Group B with two-times winner Germany, Norway and Thailand.

The third African flagbearers, Cameroon, were drawn in Group C with Japan, Switzerland and Ecuador.

Group A of the competition has hosts Canada, China PR, New Zealand and Netherlands, while Brazil, Korea Republic, Spain and Costa Rica will slug it out in Group E.

Group F has France, England, Colombia and Mexico.

NAN reports that Nigeria will open its campaign at the tournament against Sweden on June 8, face Australia on June 12 and tackle the U.S. on June 16.

The 52 matches of “Canada 2015’’ will hold in six cities, namely Ottawa, Moncton, Montreal, Winnipeg, Edmonton and Vancouver.

Follow Us

Previous articleNigerian military seizes arms-laden Russian plane bound for Chad
Next articlePDP spent $28b on power without results – Oyegun


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.