Gowon, UBA boss, Uduaghan, others bag leadership awards


Former military head of state, General Yakubu Gowon, Group Managing Director and CEO of United Bank for Africa (UBA) Plc, Phillips Oduoza, Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Akinwunmi Adesina were among many other credible and distinguished Nigerians honoured at this year’s Leadership Annual Conference and Awards held at the ThisDay Dome, Abuja.

General Gowon, who will be 80 years on Sunday, October 19, 2014 received award as the Leadership “Person of the Year” in 2013 for being the voice moderation in an increasingly fractured political environment.

Phillips Oduoza, the GMD/CEO of United Bank for Africa Plc received an award as Leadership “Banker of the Year.” In a citation at the awards, the organizers said that he was being honoured “for deepening UBA’s value as Africa’s global bank, skillfully guiding big ticket investments that significantly improved shareholder value while expanding the bank’s product offering and elevating customer service”

Also, Dr. Akinwunmi Adesina, the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development was named “Leadership Public Officer of the Year” for “aggressively implementing bold policy reforms, tackling decades of corruption in the fertiliser sector and pursuing innovative agricultural investment programmes to expand opportunities for the private sector to add value to crops produced in Nigeria

The Delta State governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, also emerged Governor of the Year “for his vision of a state beyond oil, and for building bridges of peace across one of Nigeria’s most disparate communities, massively building and renewing infrastructure and placing the economy of Delta State on solid footing.”

The award presentation was preceded by a lecture entitled, “Rebuilding A Nation: Lessons From Other Lands”, by Lagos State governor Babatunde Raji Fashola while the event was chaired by Vanguard publisher, Sam Amuka.

Also honoured at the ceremony were; the vice chairman of Ocean Marine Security, Olatunde Ayeni, as the Business Person of the Year, Simdul Shagaya (CEO Of the Year); the former minister of the FCT, Malam Nasir Ahmed el-Rufai, is the Author of the Year; and Super Eagles Coach, Stephen Keshi, is the Sports Person of the Year.

Others include Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (Agency of the Year), Nagari Farm Yoghurt (Product of the Year), Chi Limited (Company of the Year), LAPO Micro Finance Bank Ltd (Micro Finance Bank of the Year), Swift Network Ltd (Telecom Company of the Year), Jumia (ICT Of the Year), SAMSUNG (Brand of the Year), Ice Prince (Artist of the Year) and the Golden Eaglets (Young Persons of the Year).

Follow Us

Previous articleWe can’t release seized $15m arms money without due process – South Africa
Next articleDelta 2015: Senator Osakwe endorses Obuh for governor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.