House minority officers, KLM support Speaker Gbajabiamila on appointments


The Minority Officers of the House of Assembly and Hon Kolawole Lawal MoboOlorunduro (KLM) have affirmed their support for the action of the Hon. Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajaniila in announcing Hon. Ndudi Elumelu as House Minority Leader.

They insisted that the adoption was in line with Section 56(1 & 2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,1999 (as amended) and Order 7 Rule 8(1) of the House’s Standing Rules.

Hon. Kolawole Lawal Mobolorunduro (KLM), the member representing Yewa South/Ipokia federal constituency has affirmed his support to the Hon. Speaker of the 9th assembly of the House of Representatives in naming Hon. Ndudi Elumelu, as the minority leader for the 9th assembly.

Similarly, Hon Kolawole Lawal agreed with the position of the speaker to announce Hon. Elumelu as the minority leader of the House. According to KLM, Hon Elumelu and other minority officers announced by the Hon. Speaker were duly nominated and endorsed by members of the minority parties in line with Nigerian Constitution and Order 7 rule 8 (1) of the House standing rules which provides inter-alia that “members of the minority parties in the house shall nominate from among them, the Minority Leader, Minority Whip, Deputy Minority Leader and Deputy Minority Whip”.

KLM concluded that the House needs to move forward into the reason why Hon members were elected in the first place, rather than allowing itself to be bogged down by issues such as these.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.