INEC displays list of 15 Lagos governorship candidates


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has displayed the names and particulars of 15 governorship candidates in Lagos State as presented to it by their political parties.

A correspondent who visited INEC office in Lagos on Friday, reports that the commission also displayed the names of the candidates’ running mates and candidates for House of Assembly.

According to the list, Mr Ayodele Akele is govenorship candidate for the National Conscience Party (NCP), while his running mate is Dr Akinlade Babafemi.

Also in the list, Mrs Pauline Adegbe and Mr Olamide Oguntoyinbo appeared as the governorship candidate for the Progressives Peoples’ Alliance (PPA) and running mate respectively.

The Action Alliance (AC) also has Mr Aregbesola Ishola and Mrs Omolola Olorunnishola as its governorship candidate and running mate respectively in the list.

The list as well featured Mr Godwin Mayor as the governorship candidate for Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) and Mr Ugochukwu Ekwebelem as his running mate.

Mr Akinwunmi Ambode is presented in the list as governorship candidate for the All Progressives Congress (APC) with Mrs Aderanti Adebule as his running mate.

The list displayed Mr Olujimi Agbaje as the governorship candidate for Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with Mrs Safirat Abdukareem as his running mate.

According to it, Mr Victor Adeniji is running as governorship candidate on the platform of Kowa Party (KP) with Mrs Funmilayo Davidson as his running mate.

It also featured Mr Olatunde Olusesan as the governorship candidate for the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) and Mrs Abiodun Shuaib as his running mate.

In the list, Mr Ademola Razaq appeared as the flag-bearer of the Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD) with Mr Folawiyo Adebayo as his running mate.

It also indicated Mr Kayode Jacobs as the governorship candiadte on the platform of Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP) with Mr Akeem Suberu as his running mate.

Mr Festus Igbinoba is representing United Progressive Party (UPP) with Mr Kanu Urji as his running mate in the list.

However, it was observed that the list did not reflect the governorship candidate for Independent Democrat (ID) but reflected Mrs Omoshola Lawal as a running mate candidate.

Similarly, the People Democratic Movement (PDM) has only the name of its governorship candidate, Mr Akin Badmus on the list.

The list as well reflected the name of the running mate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Mr Edwin Izuchukwu and Mr Olurotimi Olulana as the governorship candidate for the Labour Party (LP).

The display is in accordance with the provision of the Electoral Act as amended.

Section 31 Subsection 3 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) provides for publication of personal particulars of all candidates contesting in 2015 general elections within seven days of the receipt of form CF 001.

Follow Us

Previous articleI am not leaving PDP – Daniel
Next articleMore criticisms trail FG’s abstention on Palestinian statehood vote


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.