Nigeria draws Argentina, Iceland in Russia 2018 Group D draw


Nigeria’s Super Eagles will once again come up against Argentina after being grouped alongside the two-time former world champions in Group D at Friday’s World Cup draw in Moscow.

Other teams in Group D are Iceland and Croatia.

The Super Eagles have played against Argentina in the group stage of all but one of their five previous World Cup appearances, and both sides will once again meet at next year’s tournament.

They lost to the South Americans in 1994, 2002, 2010, and 2014.

Nigeria will, however, open their campaign in Russia at next year’s FIFA World Cup in Russia with a tough tie against Croatia on June 16 in Kaliningrad before taking on Iceland six days later in Volgograd, and then Argentina on June 26 in St Petersburg.

On paper, it is a tough group, and it is a fact that is not lost on Super Eagles striker, Odion Ighalo.

“It is a tough group. It is a tough group but even the other teams will be wary of us,” said Ighalo, who was instrumental to Nigeria’s qualification for the World Cup, shortly after the draw in a live TV programme on SuperSport.

“It is a tough group but we have what it takes to qualify.”

Nigeria recently defeated Argentina 4-2 in a friendly match played in Russia, but have never beaten the Argentines in a competitive fixture.

Iceland, meanwhile, will be making their first appearance at the football tournament. They are the smallest nation to have ever qualified for the World Cup but their heroics at last year’s European Championship, where they eliminated England on the way to a historic semi-final appearance, means they won’t be pushovers.

“Iceland are doing well,” continued Ighalo. “We all saw what they did to England at the last Euros, and they are not going to be pushovers.

“We will have to be at our best to get anything out of this game as well as all the other games.”

The Russia 2018 Draw
Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, Korea

Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.