Oyo jinx breaker, Ajimobi pledges more developmental strides


Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State who broke tradition by winning a second term in the 11 April election took the oath of office on Friday in Ibadan at a colourful ceremony which took place at the historic Liberty Stadium.

His deputy, Moses Alake also took the oath, which was administered by the state chief of Judge, Justice Ladapo Abimbola.

Ajimobi expressed gratitude to the people of the state, who he said rose above the massive hate and smear campaigns designed to demonize his huge sacrifices and achievements of the past four years.

“Since 1976 when our state was created, seven of us have stood before you to take the gubernatorial oath; 26 in all have administered our state, either as the defunct Western Region or its eventual reincarnation as Oyo State.

“The Almighty, in His wondrous ways, ably assisted by the audacity of your votes, has made me the only of those numerous men to take the gubernatorial oath a second time.”

The governor, who listed his achievements in office during his first term, assured that the policy thrust of his administration from 2015-2019 would be guided by the manifesto of the All Progressives Congress, APC and personal desire to leave imperishable legacies that would carve out immortality for us as individuals and government.

“The cardinal thrust of our administration from today till May 29, 2019 shall be: Consolidation of peace and security in the state, deepening inclusive and transparent governance, widening the scope of infrastructure development and upgrade of the 2015 Urban Renewal Initiatives.

“Other areas include human Capital Development founded on quality education, skill acquisition and healthcare delivery, re-engineering of our socio-economic infrastructure for economic emancipation and progress, with a goal to repositioning the finance of the state and revitalization and development of agriculture and agro-allied industry for value addition.”

Among the dignitaries present at the event were: Deputy Governor, State of Osun, Titi Laoye-Tomori, Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi, the Aseyin of Iseyin, Oba Abdul Ganiy Ajinase, former Governor, Ahmed Usman and Military Administrator Toye Sode and foremost industrialist, Bayo Amoo, and Niyi Akintola, SAN.

Follow Us

Previous articleAmosun pledges to take Ogun state to the ‘next level’
Next articleJonathan’s cousins’ abductors demand N50m ransom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.