PDP Governors endorse Jonathan’s 2015 ambition


Governors elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party have endorsed President Goodluck Jonathan as the party’s sole candidate for the 2015 presidential election.

Rising from a meeting of the PDP Governors Forum in Abuja on Wednesday, the governors said the decision was a unanimous one.

Chairman of the Forum and Akawa Ibom State Governor, Godswill Akpabio who spoke on behalf of his colleagues urged party members across the federation to support the President as sole candidate for the race.

“We have all resolved to support his re-election in 2015,” Akpabio stated, adding that the decision was in the best interest of the party and the country.

The Governors commended the Armed Forces for what they described as their gallant efforts in the counter insurgency campaign and called on stakeholders and members of the public to give the Federal Government the needed support to stamp out terrorism in the land.

They also expressed satisfaction with efforts of the Federal Government, the Health Ministry and other stakeholders in the containment of the spread of the dreaded Ebola virus.

Speaking further, Akpabio said the governors were pleased with the party’s outing in the August 9 governorship election in Osun State and expressed the Forum’s support for the decision of the PDP candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore to pursue his case at the electoral tribunal.

The Forum congratulated Acting Governor of Adamawa State, Umar Fintiri for winning the party’s ticket for the governorship election scheduled to hold in the state on October 11.
Akpabio urged PDP members and other stakeholders in Adamawa to give Fintiri their maximum support at the poll.

Besides Akpabio, others that attended the meeting were: Sullivan Chime (Enugu); Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta); Jonah Jang (Plateau); Theodore Orji (Abia); Idris Wada (Kogi); Ramalan Yero (Kaduna); Ibrahim Dankwabo (Gombe); Saidu Dakingari (Kebbi).

Others include Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa); Liyel Imoke (Cross River); Gabriel Suswam (Benue); Babangida Aliyu (Niger); Umar Fintiri (Adamawa); Garba Umar (Taraba); Deputy Governor of Jigawa; Deputy Governor of Sokoto; and Deputy Governor of Nasarawa State.

Follow Us

Previous articleNigeria cuts gas supply to Ghana over NNPC workers’ strike
Next articleScotland’s independence referendum begins


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.