Senate confirms Service Chiefs


The upper legislative chamber, the Senate has confirmed the four Service Chiefs nominated by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The confirmation followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Joint Committee on Defence/Army, Navy and Air Force which gave the nominees clean bill of health.

The Chairman of the Committee, Senator George Sekibo, while presenting the report said, “Having assessed the four nominees thoroughly and found them fit for the leadership of their respective services, the Joint Committee wishes to recommend that the Senate do confirm and approve their appointment and decoration by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as Service Chiefs.”

Those confirmed are – the Chief of Defence Staff, Air Marshall Alex Badeh; Chief of Army Staff, Major General Kenneth Minimah; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin and Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshall Adesola Amosu.

Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, urged the service chiefs to bring their wealth of experience to bear in the discharge of their functions and live up to the expectation of Nigerians.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.