Senate sets up seven-member committee to harmonise PIB with reps


Senate President Ahmad Lawan has named a seven-member committee to harmonise the different versions of the Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB) passed by the national assembly last week.

Lawan announced the composition of the committee at the plenary session on Tuesday.

The committee will be chaired by Yahaya Abdullahi, senate majority leader, other members are Mohammed Sabo, Albert Bassey Akpan, Danjuma Goje, Opeyemi Bamidele, Stella Oduah and Gabriel Suswam.

Lawan asked the committee to meet with their counterparts in the house of representatives to have the final documentation of the bill for the president’s assent.

“The conference committee will meet with our counterparts in the House, the House will also announce the composition of the conference committee, and we hope that they will swing into action immediately, so that we are able to have the final document of the PIB which we will transmit for the presidential assent,” he said.

“So, we expect our delegation here under the leadership of the Senate Leader to engage with our colleagues in the House of Representatives.”

Previous article‘Government has my full support’, says Na’Abba on FG actions on Nnamdi Kanu, Igboho
Next articleVeteran Actor RMD clocks 60 years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.