South West APC leaders assert commitment to progressive politics


All Progressives Congress (APC) leaders in the South West Zone of the country say they remain committed to progressive politics.

A spokesman of the group and former governor of Ogun, Chief Olusegun Osoba, said this in Ibadan on Thursday after a four-hour meeting held at the Executive Chamber of the Oyo State Governor’s Office.

He told newsmen that the meeting was specifically held to discuss issues of all ramifications affecting the South West Zone.

“We met principally to discuss issues of all ramification affecting the South West and we have come out with a resolution to show that in the South West of APC, there is unity of purpose.

“We are together on all issues concerning the governance of this country. We have also discussed what should be the role and influence to exercise as a group for the interest and progress of the country

“We have examined what the government that we are all involved in is bringing and have reviewed all the issues. All those to be taken to Abuja will be done by those concerned.

“We have related with our representatives at the National Assembly, party leaders and governors,” he said.

The former governor gave an assurance that there would be total unity and consultation among the governors on the development of the South West Zone.

The meeting was attended by Gov. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State, Gov. Rauf Aregbesola of Osun, Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos and Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun.

Also at the meeting were APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, former APC National Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande, and APC National Deputy Chairman(South West), Chief Segun Oni.

Sen. Sola Adeyeye, the Senate Chief Whip and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, the Majority Leader, House of Representatives as well as former governors, Olagunsoye Oyinlola and Adeniyi Adebayo were also there.

Adebayo Shittu, the Minister of Communications, Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Works, Power and Housing and Kayode Fayemi, Minister of Solid Minerals also attended the meeting.

The others included Mrs Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Finance, Isaac Adewole, Minister of Health and Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information and Culture.

Follow Us


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.