27 Sokoto lawmakers defect to APC

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
APC rally (inset, Gov. Aliyu Wamakko of Sokoto)

Twenty seven out of the 30 members of the People Democratic Party (PDP) in the Sokoto State House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The three that opted to remain are Bala Musa, representing Yabo, Mustapha Hurumi representing Bodinga South and Gatau Mustapha of Isa constituency-

The defection was announced on Wednesday on the floor of the Assembly by the Speaker, Lawalli Zayyana and the defected members immediately brought out brooms to celebrate their move after the announcement of their names by the speaker.

It would be recalled that Gov. Aliyu Wamakko and his supporters had since defected to the APC, while his Deputy, Mukhtari Shagari had remained in the PDP.

Shagari had at a recent news conference in Sokoto said that his loyalty to the party and President Goodluck Jonathan was intact, even as he also claimed that his relationship with Wamakko was still cordial.

Share This Article