37 PDP Reps decamp to APC

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Tambuwal, Speaker, House of Reps
Thirty-seven members of the lower chamber, the House of Representatives, have decamped from the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP to the All Progressives Congress, APC.
Those who defected are from Adamawa, Sokoto, Kano, Bauchi, Kwara, Rivers and Katsina states, the states where their governors in the G-5 have already ditched the PDP.
The lawmakers who made their defection known in a letter read to the House by Speaker, Aminu Tambuwal said they were doing so because of the division and factionalisation within the PDP.
They have also argued that their defection was in tandem with section 68 subsection 1G of the constitution.
There are strong indications that the Speaker of the House of Reps, Aminu Tambuwal along with other principal officers of the house may also be on their way out of the PDP.
Share This Article