APC primary update: Kwakwanso set to step down for Buhari


The ongoing presidential primary of the All Progressives Congress, APC, holding at Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos is already living up to its billings as aspirants and party leadership embark on last minute horse trading among the over 8,000 delegates attending the convention.

Already, there are reports that one of the contenders for the presidential ticket and governor of Kano State, Rabiu Musa Kwakwanso has been prevailed upon to step down for General Muhammadu Buhari.

Though the governor was said to have agreed, sources however said that governor Kwakwanso would still want to make a show when the convention gets underway before finally bowing out of the race.

Besides, part of the other schemings to sway the victory in favour of Buhari was the decision of 12 APC governors to throw their weights behind the retired army General.

The 12 governors who agreed to support Buhari at a meeting somewhere in Adeola Odeku, Victoria Island Lagos are Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa), Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara), Babatunde Fashola (Lagos), Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto) and Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers).

However, what appears to be raising the stakes is the approach being adopted by Abubakar Atiku, who is said to have decided to reach out personally to all delegates, particularly those in the remaining 22 States where the party has no governors.

Atiku is believed to have zeroed in on delegates from 16 states which they consider winnable: Adamawa, Sokoto, Kebbi, Niger, Benue, Plateau, Bauchi, Jigawa, Taraba, Yobe, Delta, Abia, Ebonyi, Enugu, Ekiti and Ondo ─ as well as the FCT.

Follow Us


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.