Cristiano Ronaldo wins second Ballon d’Or


Portugal and Real Madrid forward, Cristiano Ronaldo has won 2014 Ballon d’Or for the second year in a row.

He defeated Barcelona ace and four-time winner Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich keeper Manuel Neuer.

Wolfsburg and Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler was named women’s player of the year, while Colombia’s James Rodriguez won goal of the year.

Germany’s World Cup winner Joachim Low won men’s coach of the year.

Wolfsburg boss Ralf Kellermann was named women’s football coach of the year after a successful defence of the Champions League.

The three candidates for the Ballon d’Or were all picked in the team of the year, along with defenders Philipp Lahm, David Luiz, Thiago Silva and Sergio Ramos, midfielders Andres Iniesta, Toni Kroos and Angel Di Maria and forward Arjen Robben.

Colombia’s James Rodriguez won the Fifa goal of the year award for his World Cup strike against Uruguay, beating Irishwoman Stephanie Roche.

Roche, who scored a stunner for Peamount against Wexford in the Irish top flight, had hoped to be the first female winner of the Puskas Award.

But she landed only 33% of the public vote to Rodriguez’s 42%.

Follow Us

Previous articleINEC to present voters register to political parties on Tuesday
Next articleBuhari is incorruptible, honest – Gov Lamido


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.