Coen brothers win US critics prize

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Oscar Isaac (l) appears with Justin Timberlake in Inside Llewyn Davis

The Coen brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis has won the US National Society of Film Critics film of the year for 2013. Joel and Ethan Coen were also voted best directors, while Oscar Isaac won best actor for playing the fictional folk singer in the 1960s-set film.

Cate Blanchett was named best actress for Blue Jasmine at the society’s annual voting meeting in New York.

Meanwhile, the Writers Guild of America shortlisted American Hustle and Nebraska among its best screenplay titles.

Also nominated in the original screenplay category was Dallas Buyers Club, Blue Jasmine and Her.

The adapted screenplay list featured August: Osage County, Before Midnight, Captain Phillips, Lone Survivor and The Wolf of Wall Street.

The WGA awards will be handed out at ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles on 1 February.

The National Society of Film Critics opted for Before Midnight as its best screenplay of the year

Jennifer Lawrence won best supporting actress for American Hustle, while James Franco was named best supporting actor for Spring Breakers.

The foreign language award went to Blue is the Warmest Colour, the controversial lesbian drama which won the the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival.

The society dedicated its 48th annual awards to members Roger Ebert and Stanley Kauffmann, who both died in 2013.

Share This Article