FG names George Obiozo, Ben Nwabueze, Tony Nyiam others in Confab Committee

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Prof Nwabueze

The Federal Government has included Professors Gerorge Obiozo, Ben Nwabueze and Col. Tony Nyiam (Rtd) in the list of thirteen member advisory committee on the proposed national conference.

The confab which has Senator Femi Okunrounmu as chairman, also include Sen. Khairat Gwadabe; Sen. Timothy Adudu; Prof. Funke Adebayo; Dr. (Mrs) Mairo Ahmed Amshi; Dr. Abubakar  Sadiq.

Others include, Dauda Birma; Mallam Buhari Bello; Tony Uranta and Dr. Akilu Indabawa as Secretary.

In a release signed by Anyim Pius Anyim, GCON Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the committee’s has one month to conclude its assignment and it is expected to consult expeditiously with all relevant stakeholders with a view to drawing up a feasible agenda for the proposed national dialogue/conference; make recommendations to government on structure and modalities for the proposed national dialogue/conference and how representation of various interest groups at the national dialogue/conference will be determined.

Other Terms of Reference include to advise on a timeframe for the national dialogue/conference; advise government on a legal framework for the national dialogue/conference and the legal procedures and options for integrating decisions and outcomes of the national dialogue/ conference into the constitution and laws of the nation as well as to advise government on any other matters that may be related or incidental to the proposed national dialogue/conference.

The Committee is expected to be inaugurated on Monday, October 7.


Share This Article