Frontline Delta PDP governorship aspirants align with Obuh


Arising from the first set of primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party in Delta State, which has seen governorship aspirant, Sir Tony Obuh, apparently coasting home to victory, some frontline aspirants of the party have started aligning with him.

Available information over the weekend had it that the aspirants believe that with the emergence of Obuh’s supporters from virtually all the local governments of the state as delegates to the governorship primaries, there was no doubt about where the pendulum will swing on Monday, when the governorship primaries of the PDP holds all over the country.

The results of the initial primaries indicate that Obuh’s camp clinched 21 local governments as against two for Senator Okowa, one for Godswill Obielum and one for Ndudi Elumelu, even though he lost his local government to Obuh’s supporter.

Those for Obuh who picked their constituency tickets included Lady Angela Nwaka, Aniocha South; Uzoma Idabor, Aniocha North; Hon. Isaac Ulebor, Ika South; Hon. Tim Owhefere, Isoko North; Barrister Orezi Esievo, Isoko South Constituency I; Hon. Johnson Erijo, Isoko South Constituency 11; Hon. Peter Onwusanya, Oshimili South.

Others include Hon. Pat Ajudua, Oshimili North; Erhiatake Ibori, Ethiope West; Comrade Izeze Rume Reuben, Ughelli South; Samuel Mariere, Ughelli North I; Prince Eric Oharisi, Ughelli North II; Olorogun Arthur Akpowowo, Ethiope East; and Chief Sheriff Oborevwori, Okpe.

Others are Efe Ofobruku, Uvwie; Hon. Godwin Toristseju Abigor, Warri South Constituency I; Hon. Denis Omovie, Warri South Constituency 11; Hon. Daniel Mayuku, Warri South West; Hon. Dan Yingi, Burutu Constituency 1; Hon. Kennedy Daubry, Burutu Constituency II; Hon. Monday Igbuya, Sapele; Hon. Azuka Azaka, Ndokwa West; Hon. Alphonsus Ojo, Ukwuani; and Pius Labo, Bomadi.

Senator Ifeanyi Okowa clinched Ika North East and Warri North, with Tony Elekeokwuri and Chief Michael Diden claiming the tickets respectively, while Ndudi Elumelu’s campaign manager, Moses Odibo, won in Udu and Godswill Obielum taking Ndokwa East with Friday Osanebi picking the ticket.

All the other governorship aspirants were defeated in their various local governments, including Hon. Victor Ochie, Prof. Sylvester Monye and Ndudi Elumelu, whose candidates lost to Uzoma Idabor in Aniocha North Local Government Area.

Reports say some of the aspirants are already negotiating with the Obuh camp with the possibility of stepping down for him ahead of the forthcoming governorship primaries on Monday.

Follow Us

Previous articleAPC presidential candidate emerges on Wednesday
Next articleLokpobiri loses bid to clinch Bayelsa West Senatorial ticket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.