Jonathan appoints Mu’azu, former Bauchi governor as PenCom boss

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Adamu Mua'zu

President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday forwarded the name of former Governor of Bauchi State, Ahmadu Adamu Mu’azu, to the Senate for confirmation as Chairman of the National Pension Commission (PenCom).

The president also forwarded the name of M’fon Akpan for conformation as Executive Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS).

The two letters were read on the floor of the Senate by Senate President, David Mark.

Apart from Mu’azu, Jonathan also sent the names of Chinelo O. Anohu-Amazu (South East), Omotowa Reuben Gilbert (North Central), Mohammed Ka’oje Abubakar (North West) and Adesojo O. Olaoba-Efuntayo (South West) for conformation as full-time commissioners of the Pension Commission.

The President noted in a letter entitled: “Appointment of the Chairman and full-time commissioners for the National Pension Commission,” that Section 16(1) of the Pension Reform Act, provides that the Commission shall comprise a part-time Chairman, a Director-General, four Commissioners and seven part-time members.”

Jonathan said that Section 16(3) of the Act also provides that appointment of the Chairman, Director-General and other members of the commission other than ex-officio members shall be made by the President, subject to confirmation by the Senate.

The President noted that following the expiration of the tenure of the Chairman, DG and the Commissioners of the commission, he decided to nominate those listed for confirmation in line with the provisions of Sections 16(3) and 17(1) of the Pension Reform Act, 2004.

For the Chairman of IRS, Jonathan noted that it is pursuant to the provision of Section 11a of the Federal Inland Revenue (Establishment) Act, 2007, which stipulates that “the Executive Chairman shall be appointed by the President, subject to confirmation by the Senate.

Jonathan said that it was in line with the Section that he wrote to forward the name of M’fon Akpan for consideration as Executive Chairman of the FIRS.

Share This Article