Jonathan heads to London for investors’ meeting

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
President Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan is expected to leave Abuja in the early hours of Wednesday for a three-day meeting of Nigeria’s Honourary International Investors’ Council in London.

A statement issued on Tuesday by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, said that President Jonathan is scheduled to preside over the meeting, which is expected to address issues like generating long-term affordable finance for Nigeria’s real sector, developing Nigeria’s private equity and venture capital sectors to attract more foreign investments and Nigeria’s information and communications technology master-plan.

“The meeting of the council which is coordinated by Baroness Lynda Chalker will also feature a review of Nigeria’s existing investment policies by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the Paris-based international organization dedicated to the promotion of policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

“Members of the council include the CEO of the Investment Corporation of Dubai, Mohammed al Shaibani, a former South African Minister of Public Enterprises, Alec Erwin, the Vice President of Hewlett-Packard’s Enterprise Group in Europe, Middle-East and Africa, Olivier Suinat, a former Prime Minister of Pakistan, Shaukat Aziz and the Director of Shell’s International Upstream Business, Andrew Brown,” the statement said.

President Jonathan will be accompanied by Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta State, Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State, Senator Emmanuel Paulker, Senator Nenadi Usman, Hon. Sylvester Ogbaga, Hon. Isiaka Bawa and the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.

Also on the trip are the Minister of Industry, Trade and Investments, Dr. Olusegun Aganga and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Lamido Sanusi, the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Allison-Madueke and the Minister of Communications Technology, Omobola Johnson.

The Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, the Minister of Special Duties, Kabiru Turaki, the Minister of State I (Foreign Affairs), Prof. Viola Onwuliri and heads of relevant government agencies will also be on the trip.

Share This Article