Kano Pillars retains Glo Premier League title

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Kano Pillars celebrate victory

Defending champions Kano Pillars Football club on Sunday retained the 2012/2013 Glo Premier League title in the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) even after losing on the competition’s final match day.

The Kano side lost 0-2 to Lobi Stars FC of Makurdi in a week 38 match at Katsina-Ala but the loss did not stop them winning their third league title.

They won the title with 63 points from 38 matches, one point ahead of former winners Enyimba International FC of Aba who surged into second place after a 1-0 home win.

The Aba-based former African champions finished with 62 points from 38 matches after beating Sharks FC of Port Harcourt.

They leapfrogged Bayelsa United of Yenagoa who dropped to third place after losing 0-1 to Gombe United FC and ending up with 61 points.

El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri also dropped to fourth place from third place, with 60 points after a 0-1 loss to Rangers International FC in Enugu.

In other matches played in the league, Wikki Tourists of Bauchi lost 0-2 to Dolphin FC in Port Harcourt, while ABS FC of Ilorin lost 0-1 to hosts Warri Wolves.

Akwa United FC of Uyo also drew 1-1 with hosts Kwara United FC in Lokoja, while 3SC FC of Ibadan finally went down after a 0-2 loss to Kaduna United FC.

The loss kept them at the bottom of the table with 46 points, and will be joined by three others on the list of four clubs relegated into the lower Nigeria National League (NNL)

Share This Article