Keshi picks Alampasu, 22 others for CHAN

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Dele Alampasu

Super Eagles’ Head Coach Stephen Keshi on Tuesday in Abuja released the list of 23 players who will represent Nigeria at the third edition of the African Nations Championship (CHAN), billed for Jan. 11 to Feb. 1, 2014 in three South African cities.

The list has three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and six forwards, with 2013 Golden Eaglets’ star goalkeeper Dele Alampasu making the cut.

The team’s first-choice goalkeeper and skipper, Chigozie Agbim, as well as team regulars such as defenders Azubuike Egwuekwe, Solomon Kwambe and Francis Benjamin also made the list.

Former junior internationals Abdullahi Shehu and Christian Pyagbara also made it, joining Alampasu on the list of the new crop of young players graduating to the senior team.

Agbim, Kwambe, Benjamin and Egwuekwe are an integral part of the main Super Eagles team.

Pyagbara and Shehu played for the Flying Eagles at the African Youth Championship (AYC) in Algeria and the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Turkey, both in 2013.

Alampasu was selected as the Best Goalkeeper as Nigeria’s under-17 side won a record fourth FIFA U-17 World Cup title in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in October.

Nigeria face hosts South Africa, Mali and Mozambique in Group A of the 2014 CHAN, a championship reserved for senior players plying their trade in the domestic league of their countries.

The Full List:

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Rangers International); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC); Dele Alampasu (Abuja Football College)

Defenders: Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Francis Benjamin (Heartland FC); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars); Ikechukwu Gabriel (Bayelsa United); Umar Zango (Kano Pillars); Bright Esieme (Enyimba International); Erhun Obanor (Bendel Insurance FC)

Midfielders: Ugonna Uzochukwu (Rangers); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Christian Pyagbara (Sharks FC); Ikenna Hilary (Sunshine Stars); Abdullahi Shehu (Kano Pillars); Joshua Obaje (Warri Wolves)

Forwards: Ejike Uzoenyi (Rangers); Gbolahan Salami (Shooting Stars); Barnabas Imenger (Lobi Stars); Aliyu Ibrahim (Nasarawa United); Christian Obiozor (Rangers); Ifeanyi Ede (Enyimba International)

Share This Article