Magu excluded as PSC promotes 24 officers to AIG


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has declined the promotion of Ibrahim Magu, former acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), to the position of assistant inspector-general of police (AIG).

Ikechukwu Ani, PSC spokesman, who disclosed this in a statement on Thursday has said that Magu was being considered for promotion to AIG, despite the report by the Justice Ayo Salami-led panel, which recommended that the former acting EFCC chairman be prosecuted over allegations of abuse of power.

According to Ani, the PSC, at its 12th plenary meeting held on Tuesday and Wednesday, took the decision to exclude Magu from the promotion exercise, pending when the former EFCC chairman is cleared by the federal government.

“The Police Service Commission has confirmed the acting appointments of three Deputy Inspectors General of Police. The Commission also approved the promotion of twenty four Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police. The Commission however declined the promotion of CP, Ibrahim Magu, former acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC,” the statement reads.

“The Commission declined the promotion of CP Magu, pending clearance from the office of the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and the Office of the Inspector General of Police.”

Meanwhile, the PSC also “approved the promotion of 35 Deputy Commissioners of Police, to the rank of Commissioners; 52 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners and 46 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners”.

“It also considered and approved the promotion of 10 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, 17 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents, 139 Assistant Superintendents of Police, whose names were skipped during the last promotion, to Deputy Superintendents and nine Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police,” Ani said.

“The three DIGs whose acting appointments were confirmed by the Commission were Tijanni Baba who replaced Rtd DIG Aminchi Samaila Baraya for North East; Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim, who replaced Rtd DIG Ibrahim Larmode, North East and DIG Moses A. Jitoboh who replaced Rtd DIG Ogbizi Michael for South South.”

The 24 commissioners of police promoted to assistant inspectors-general of police are: “Usman Nagogo, currently CP Federal Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters Abuja; Bala Ciroma, Cp, FCT Command; Ahmad Abdurrahman, NIPPS, Jos; Adeleke Adeyinka Bode, CP, Kebbi State Command; Muri Umar Musa, CP Kaduna State Command; Lawal Jimeta Tanko(former COMPOL POPOL) and presently Commandant Police Academy Wudil Kano and Dauda Abdulkarim, Commandant Police Traning College Kaduna.”

Others are “Usman Alhassan Belele, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters Abuja; Adebola Emmanuel Longe, CP. Nasarawa State; Musa Adze, CP Anti Fraud, FCIID, Abuja; Philip Sule, former CP Ebonyi and currently CP SPU Force Headquarters, Abuja; Usman Sule Gomna, CP Jigawa State Command; Adamu Usman, CP Niger State Command; Daniel Sokari Pedro, Deputy Commandant, Police Academy Wudil, Kano, and Ahmed Mohammed Azare, CP Taraba Command”.

Also promoted to AIG are: “Adamu Saleh Jajeri; Maigana Alhaji Sani, CP FCIID Annex Kaduna; Audu Adamu Madaki, former CP Welfare, presently CP, Benue State; Ibrahim Sani Kaoje; NIPPS; John Ogbonnaya Amadi CP Airport Command; Ede Ayuba Ekpeji, CP Kogi State Command; Mohammed Bagega, Kwara State Command; Bello Makwashi, CP Borno State Command, Buba Sanusi, CP Katsina State Command”.

Previous articleFormer Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos, joins Paris St-Germain on two-year deal
Next articleMTN Group plans to diversify shares in Nigerian unit, targets 2m retail investors


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.