Mu’azu to replace Tukur as PDP chairman


Former Governor of Bauchi State, Adamu Mu’azu, has been chosen as the new Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party by President Goodluck Jonathan and governors. He will replace the former chairman, Bamanga Tukur, who resigned from his position last Wednesday.

Mu’azu was picked as a consensus candidate at a meeting between President Goodluck Jonathan and the governors of the party at the Presidential Villa in Abuja on Sunday night. The meeting ended at 1:22 am on Monday morning.

Sources at the meeting said that the governors had rejected the choice of Mohammed Wakil by the President and his wife, Patience, citing his alleged inability to carry people along when he was a principal officer of the House of Representatives.

NewMailNG gathered that the President was  bent on picking Wakil, who had earlier undergone  screening by the security agents for a  ministerial position.

A governor from one of the core north told our correspondent that the President wanted Wakil at all costs  but   was vehemently opposed by the governors, arguing that, the meeting lasted long because  it was difficult for the President to accept  defeat.

“Yes, we have picked Mu’azu. He will be presented to the members of the PDP NEC on Monday(today) for ratification,” the source said.

Mu’azu was last week sworn in as the chairman of the National Pensions  Commission   by Jonathan. He  was born on June 11, 1955 and was governor of Bauchi State   from May 29,  1999 to  May 29, 2007.

Before the Villa meeting,  the North-East governors, met at the Bauchi State Governor’s Lodge in Abuja, in which the  Chairman of the PDP Governors’ Forum, Godswill Akpabio, and Bayelsa State Governor Seriake  Dickson were said to have attended.

Before the two meetings, the President had a private meeting with  Seriake ostensibly over who would emerge as the new chairman of the PDP.

Sources hat told our correspondent that before the Sunday, a  former National Publicity Secretary of the party, Prof. Rufai Alkali   (Gombe State); ex- Acting National  Secretary,    Dr. Musa Babayo (Bauchi); and   a former  Minister of Commerce,  Amb. Idris Waziri (Taraba),  were touted as some of the   five  top contenders for the job.

An  ex- Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Ibrahim Bunu (Borno) and the current   Minister of Transport, Sen. Idris Umar, who is believed to be  the choice of  the wife of the President Goodluck Jonathan,  Patience,  were also  in the race.

Previous articleSuper Eagles crush Bafana Bafana to reach Q-Final
Next articleHoodlums open fire on pro-Amaechi rally in Port-Harcourt


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.