Omeruo returns as Keshi names 25-man squad for Ethiopia, Italy

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Super Eagles

Super Eagles’ chief coach Stephen Keshi has listed Kenneth Omeruo, Reuben Gabriel and 23 others for the team’s preparations for the Nov. 16 return leg clash with Ethiopia.

The match, a reverse fixture in the 2014 FIFA World Cup Playoff, which the Eagles hold a first leg 2-1 advantage against the Walyas of Ethiopia, will hold at the U.J. Esuene Stadium in Calabar.

A statement by the NFA said Omeruo, a Chelsea FC defender, and Gabriel of Scottish club side, Kilmarnock FC will report to camp alongside others at the Metropolitan Transcorp Hotel in Calabar on Nov. 11.

It added that the 25 players will also feature for the team against Italy in a friendly match on Nov. 18 in London.

The list has three goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and six strikers.

The team’s stand-in skipper, Vincent Enyeama, was invited alongside goalkeepers Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim, while South Africa-based defender James Okwuosa also kept his place. Strikers Obinna Nsofor and Uche Nwofor also kept their places in the team.

The full list has goalkeepers Enyeama (Lille FC, France), Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel) and Agbim (Rangers International).

It also has defenders Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga, Portugal) Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC), Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland), Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars) and Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey).

The other defenders invited to camp are Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), James Okwuosa (Chippa United, South Africa) and Omeruo.

The midfielders include Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England), Victor Moses (Liverpool FC, England), John Ogu (Academica de Coimbra, Portugal) and Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy).

The rest midfielders are Nnamdi Oduamadi (Brescia Calcio 1911, Italy), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain), Sunday Mba (Rangers) and Gabriel.

The strikers include Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England) and Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey).

The other strikers are Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia), Uche Nwofor (SC Heerenveen, The Netherlands)

Share This Article