One year after election, 6 Enugu Assembly members dump LP for PDP

Felix Jacob
Felix Jacob

Six Labour Party (LP) members of the Enugu State House of Assembly have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Their defection was announced in a letter read by the speaker, Chief Uche Ugwu, during plenary, on Thursday.

The defectors include the Majority Leader, Johnson Ani (Enugu North); the Chief Whip, Ejike Eze, (Igbo-Eze North 1); and the Deputy Chief Whip, Ms Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural).

Others are Pius Ezugwu (Nsukka East); Williams Amuka (Igbo-Etiti West); and Osita Eze (Oji River).

The defectors, in the letters, said their defection was a result of the existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the labour party at the national level and across all the state chapters.

They regretted that the party had evolved into perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles, which undermined its ability to effectively serve the interests of the people.

According to them, the Labour Party, once considered a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, has regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.

They cited the cases of the Julius Abure and Limido Apapa factions, as well as the national treasurer, as some of the divisions within the party.

They expressed the hope that the PDP would give them the platform to continue to serve the interests of their people and thanked the leadership of Labour Party for their support.

The defectors also acknowledge that the letters were sent to the office of the Speaker by themselves, adding that they would work wholeheartedly for the progress of their new party in Enugu State.

In his remark, the Speaker welcomed the defectors into the PDP and promised that they would be carried along in the legislative activities of the House.

With the defection, the PDP now had the majority in the House with 17 members while LP had only six members.

Share This Article