Osoba, N’Assembly members shun Amosun’s second term adoption

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Olusegun Osoba

Former governor of Ogun State, Olusegun Osoba, and members of the All Progressives Congress representing the state in the National Assembly on Monday shunned a meeting called to adopt the incumbent Governor Ibikunle Amosun for a second term.

Osoba, who is also a national leader of the ruling APC, along with the three senators and seven members of the House of Representatives in the National Assembly, failed to show up at the meeting.

Amosun, had through his Senior Special Adviser on Political Matters, Tunji Egbetokun, invited National and state assembly members and local government councillors as well as party chieftains to a stakeholders meeting at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto, Abeokuta.

The former governor and the federal lawmakers however stayed away from the meeting, where a mild drama ensued as a faction of the APC in the state adopted Amosun for a second term.

Aside Osoba, others absentees from the stakeholders meeting included Senator Adegbenga Kaka (Ogun East), Senator Gbenga Obadara (Ogun Central), Senator Akin Odunsi (Ogun West) and seven House of Representatives members elected on the platform of the APC.

The APC chiefs, who however attended the meeting included the state Deputy Governor, Segun Adesegun; the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Suraj Adekunbi, and his deputy, Tola Banjo.

Also in attendance were Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye, Senator Iyabo Anisulowo, Olu Adebanjo, Dayo Abatan, Kunle Elegbede and Samuel Durojaiye.

The meeting started with goodwill messages from Anisulowo, Adebanjo, Samuel Durojaye, Abatan and Elegbede.

The party leaders declared their loyalty to Amosun, soliciting the people’s support for his administration.

Share This Article