PDP wins Niger East senatorial by-election


The candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Mr. Shem Zagbai has been declared the winner of the re-run of the Niger East senatorial by-election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The initial August 30th by-election was declared inconclusive by INEC after cases of electoral malpractices were discovered in some polling units.

The returning Officer for the election, Morenikeji Olakonmi, who announced the results in Minna, said that Mr. Zagbai scored 92, 056 votes against David Umaru of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who polled 87, 405 votes.

He said Isa Bello of All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, and Abdulahi Diko of Social Democratic Party scored 2,185 and 419 votes respectively.

“We have come to the conclusion of the collation. I, Prof. Morenike Olakonmi, hereby certify that I was the Returning Officer for Niger East Senatorial District by-election held on the 6th day of September 2014.

“That Dr Shem Zagbai of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner.’’

The re-run was held in polling units in Bosso, Chanchaga, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi and Shiroro local government areas on Saturday.

Follow Us

Previous articleMarwa, Fintiri in hot contest for PDP guber ticket in Adamawa
Next articleNGO kicks as PDP sweeps Katsina council polls


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.