Pres. Jonathan’s cook, taxi driver, others make national honour list


President Goodluck Jonathan’s cook and a taxi driver were among other Nigerians who have been shortlisted by the Federal Government for national honours. The list has been approved by the president.

Six Military Officers, comprising the Chief of Defence Staff, Alex Badeh; Chief of Army Staff, Kenneth Minimah; Chief of Naval Staff, Usman Jibrin, and Chief of Air Staff, Adesola Amosu are also be to be conferred with national honours.

Unlike two previous editions, there will be no conferment of GCON this year.

Globacom Limited Chairman, Dr. Mike Adenuga, last year joined the President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, among personalities who had received the award of Grand Commander of the Niger.

GCON is usually bestowed on the country’s Vice-President; but Dangote made history when he was conferred with the award.

Others recipients of this year’s award are the Director of National Intelligence Agency, Ayo Oke; a former General Officer Commanding, 81 Division of the Nigerian Army, Sunday Chikwe.

The COAS, Service Chiefs and the NIA DG are to receive CFR medal while Chikwe will get OON. The list also includes the All Progressives Congress National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.

A statement on Thursday evening in Abuja by the Director (Special Duties Office), Dr. Adeyemo Tunde, on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Pius Anyim, said the Investiture would hold by 9am on Monday, September 29, 2014 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

A former Minister of Industries, Chief (Mrs) Nike Akande, would be conferred with CON.

The National Security Adviser, Col. Sambo Dasuki(retd); former Military Administrator of Lagos State, Brig. Gen Raji Rasaki; an ex-Director-General of National Youth Service Corps, Brig. Gen. Nnamdi Affia; pioneer Force Commander, African Union and ECOWAS Peace Mission, Usman Abdulkadir; Chairman, United Nations Board of Enquiry in Abiyei, Lt. Gen. Chika Obiakor, and former Provost-General of the Nigerian Army, Maj. Gen. Felix Iorshase, are listed among those to be honoured with CFR, CON, OFR and OON respectively.

Nineteen Nigerians serving or retired from the Nigerian Police, Customs Service, Immigration Service and the Department of State Security also made the list.

They include a traffic warden, Solomon Dauda(MON) and a police Inspector, Adekoya Jamiu(FRM1).

Prominent among them are the Acting Inspector-General of Police, Suleiman Abba; the Comptroller General of the Immigration Service, David Paradang; seven DIGs and two DSS Directors.

Follow Us

Previous articleI doubt if God exist – Archbishop of Canterbury
Next articleScotland says no to independence


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.