Saraki, 10 other Senators dump PDP for APC


Eleven Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Senators on Wednesday formally tendered their letter of defection to the All Progressive Congress (APC) to the Senate President, David Mark.

Although 16 names of Senators are contained in the letter, only 11 of them endorsed the document.

The defectors were led by the Chairman, Senator Committee on Environment and Ecology, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki, (Kwara Central).

The letter dated January 20, 2014 entitled: “Notification OF Change of Political Party” was addressed to Mark, who however declined to read the letter on the floor of the senate.

The letter reads in part: “We the under signed Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria elected under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), wish to notify you that we have severally and jointly joined the All Progressives Congress (APC).

“The action and decision is as a result of the division and factionalization in Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that sponsored our elections into the Senate.

“In view of the above, we write to inform you that following the division and factionalization in the PDP, we have formally joined the All Progressives Congress (APC).

“This communication is made pursuant to Section 68(1) (g) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) for your information, guidance and record purposes.

Apart from Saraki, other defectors are Senators Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara North), Senator Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West), Abdullahi Gobir (Sokoto East), Senator Magnus Ngei Abe (Rivers South East), Senator Wilson Asinobi Ake (Rivers West) and Senator Bindowo Umaru Jibrilla (Adamawa North).

Others include Senator Mohammed Danjuma Goje (Gombe Central), Senator Alhassan Aisha Jummai (Taraba North), Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume (Borno South) and Senator Umaru Dahiru (Sokoto South).

Other Senators also listed but did not sign against their names are Senators Ahmed Mohammad Maccido (Sokoto North), Saidu Ahmed Alkali (Gombe North), Basheer Garba Mohammed (Kano Central), Ahmed Zanna (Borno Central) and Senator Ahmed Hassan Barata (Adamawa South).

Previous articleInsecurity is affecting our IGR – Amaechi
Next articleFG to ban sachet water, other plastics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.