World Cup 2014: Nigeria confronts Argentina, Iran, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Semiu Salami
Semiu Salami
Messi and Mikel to slug it out

The reigning African champions has been handed an easy group in the preliminary stages of the 2014 World Cup to be staged in Brazil

Nigeria will face Argentina, Iran and Bosnia-Herzegovina in Group F of the preliminary round of the 2014 Fifa World Cup.

The draw ceremony took place Friday evening in Costa do Sauipe, Bahia State Brazil. The event was greeted with great fan fare that showcased the culture of the country. It was a spectacular treat that left mouths wide open including the crème de la crème of world football.

Secretary General of Fifa Jérôme Valcke was in charge of the draw and was assisted by some of the main icons of football history, representing the eight countries that have won the 19 editions of the World Cup to today: Sir Geoff Hurst, Mario Kempes, Fabio Cannavaro, Lothar Matthaus, Zinedine Zidane, Fernando Hierro, Cafu and Alcides Ghiggia.

Brazil were zoned in Group A against Croatia, Mexico and the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon.

Ghana’s Black Stars were landed in a veritable ‘Group of Death’ where they will be facing Germany, Portugal, and the United States of America in Group G.

Defending champions Spain were handed a tricky pool in the draw, having been bracketed with Netherlands, Chile and Australia.

Frank Ribery’s France went into Group E alongside Switzerland, Ecuador and Honduras.

Elsewhere, Uruguay, who finished fourth at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, featured in an intriguing pool alongside England, Italy and Costa Rica.

Greece had ‘dark horses’ Colombia for company in Group C, as well as Cote d’Ivoire and Japan, while Belgium drew Algeria, Russia and Korea Republic.

Nigeria’s first game will be against Iran in Curitiba on June 16, 2013.


GROUP A – Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

GROUP B – Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

GROUP C – Colombia, Greece, Cote d’Ivoire, Japan

GROUP D – Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

GROUP E – Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

GROUP F – Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

GROUP G – Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

GROUP H – Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic


Share This Article